Weighing words

Maya Angelou and Irish poetry

Maya Angelou’s poems say it all, methinks. No author whose words pierce my soul more.

I love poetry. There are lots of poems that I love from different authors, but to love poems from the same poet again and again, that is a wall a bit harder to climb over for me. So I was immensely sad when Maya Angelou passed away.

For me, she’s always a “phenomenal woman” who raises her bright spear (pen) aloft and every time her hand comes down, it cuts deeply, “lay(ing) my soul in strips”.

 

Your thoughts...

