First steps of the year

Photo1299

It’s been slow going with sporadic delightful moments as the first leg of the new year kicked in. Some days were filled with tours among botanical prints in the museum, a week long trip out of town, bursts of inspiration, Mary Stewart book finds, small reunion of old friends, art fairs and lecture, good last minute decisions, and food trips among other things. Some days are quite tough but I find dawning realizations a welcome relief.

Tonight, I write this while in the background T.S. Eliot reads his own poem, Ash Wednesday. Nothing like poetry reading to perk up my mood and stir my brain. Methinks, I’ll spend this Friday night listening to poetry readings.

Of late, I’ve been looking into spaces (in the web world). It is just one of those recurring phases of delight that comes to me along with my moods. Last time it was the frenzy for rolling gardens and landscapes. I adored the home of Gisèle d’Ailly van Waterschoot van der Gracht and Claire Basler’s floral art and amazing studio (I can’t get over it!).

The post was on my draft corner for weeks and only just now posting it up. Ironically enough, it’s Friday again and Elton John’s Tiny Dancer plays against my ears. What a suitable song to end the week worthy of a shrug-off.

Your thoughts...

